Networking sucks - Reisverslag uit Ljubljana, Slovenië van Suzanne Noordermeer - WaarBenJij.nu Networking sucks - Reisverslag uit Ljubljana, Slovenië van Suzanne Noordermeer - WaarBenJij.nu

Networking sucks

Door: Suzanski

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Suzanne

20 Mei 2016 | Slovenië, Ljubljana

Networking scares the shit out of me. The world seems to be telling everyone that having a network is the most important thing to have in this world with billions of people. But what is a network actually? When is someone in your network and when should you start thinking about your privacy. When am I in someone else’s network? Maybe this is a thing of the current social media world. I imagine that back in the day your network consisted of the people you talked to on a regular basis and people you have built a relationship with in the past and are still able to locate on the globe. Through fax or something. Nowadays I click two buttons and I can talk to a friend from two years ago that is living in some place somewhere that I have never heard of. I scroll through my Facebook timeline and find three people who’s names don’t immediately ring a bell as I have only seen them at a party once or at an orientation day or they are a friends roommate. I don’t really know them but it seemed polite to have them as ‘friends’ on Facebook. These people slipped through my strong policy of only accepting people I have actually seen. So all you Erasmus people adding random fellow Erasmussi forget it, you are not going to gain access to my info. Assuming it is not already out there, but that could probably be debated.

Networking just sounds like work that never ever ends. Business people be like ‘check who is in your network’. Nice, lets just objectify our friends and family. And don’t forget about strangers you meet in the future. They could be either friends or assets in your life. Networking not only sounds like work, it makes me feel living is like running a business. You have to know people, you have to be happy and you have to become successful. Fuck that. It is not about becoming successful, that is just something on paper. Just as being famous is just an appearance. Who are we as people? Something that traveling learned me about two years ago is that every person needs its share of misery. And that is perfectly fine, helps you grow a bit more towards that adult you thought you were going to be when you were little. But that is not something you put out there into the internet, or do you? Talking about growing into a young adult from your toddling ages, it is okay that you don’t like everybody and that not everybody likes you. Remember that lesson? Networking just sounds like we are thrown back to the ‘you have to like everyone’ phase, but really who has time for that. I would rather surround myself with a hand full of people and enjoy life than live for the likes and connections. And I can honestly say that I am really enjoying these crazy people I have met here and call my Erasmates (Yes, Joe told you I would use this word, cuz it’s awesome).

Erasmus has made me more active on Facebook than I have ever been. Fb chatting, event shopping and staying in touch with the home front. All you sweeties back in the Netherlands are telling me everything is the same, but I know that when I am coming back in about a month shit has probably changed quite drastically. And then there is this big group of people that I haven’t really talked to. Would calling the majority of my friends on Facebook weak ties be insulting to people, the same way people are insulted or at least troubled when you don’t add them on Facebook? How has Facebook become such a thing? It actually is just a platform where you display how perfect your life is and where the perfection is confirmed by the amount of likes. It is all fake and traceable without needing to make conversation. Stackable if you will. The more I use it, the less I think of it. Call me crazy for raving about all this, but I just had a little moment of realization here. That feeling of there being a virtual world and real world is starting to become something I can relate to. Awarenesss. Ah well, and then what. I am still posting this on Facebook. You are still reading this, probably through the link on Facebook. Helloo 21st century.

  • 21 Mei 2016 - 05:06

    Madre:

    Like

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Suzanne

Halloo there! The small letters on these pages tell some things about my Erasmus life in Ljubljana, Slovenia. Most are in Dutch though, since well.. I am Dutch. Enjoy sweeties :)

Actief sinds 19 Feb. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 327
Totaal aantal bezoekers 91981

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Februari 2016 - 10 Juli 2016

Study Abroad in Ljubljana

Landen bezocht: